Planning a Euro Trip

After years and months of wanting to travel to Europe, I  finally decided to make it my first SOLO trip; like I traveled alone – to different countries- didn’t know anyone in those countries, didn’t know what to expect. All I knew was, I would be fine. It was my first Euro Trip – Backpacker style too!!

1-418-002

Travel addicts will agree with me that traveling is fun, but planning the trip can be very hectic, especially for travelers like me who are on a budget. It took me about 2 months to decide the countries I would visit in Europe. After 2 months, I came up with a list of about 15 countries.  Then planning the trip became more stressful, I couldn’t decide where I wanted to go with only one week of vacation days. I had to narrow down.  I used this map of Europe to make my final decision (my friend said she customized this map but I don’t believe her *LOL*). After months of planning, I decided to travel to Spain, France and Italy.

europe-map-new

Planning sounds easy?? Yeah right. I had sleepless nights planning this trip. I had to figure out my itinerary: flights, accommodation, train, bus, etc, and of course, planning a trip on a budget doesn’t make it easy either. Thanks to so many travel sites/tools, and word of mouth from people with experience, I was able to come up with a great itinerary for my first backpacking trip. ( I will discuss more on the travel sites and resources, and deciding on travel destinations in another post) Tip: if you don’t want to be stressed out planning your trip, plan ahead of time but not too far in advance – you don’t want to miss out on last minute deals either.

1-Planning-a-Trip-001

I called this my first trip because this was the trip where everything I did was out of my normal travel routine. I backpacked for the first time in my life – well with a suitcase – but I did stay in hostels. I took public transportation everywhere -from one country to the other – ALONE!!  I finally accomplished something. This was the best traveling experience of my life; I learned a lot about myself and what I am capable of.  EUROPE, HERE I COME!!